The great bean

20140828-083722-31042356.jpg
The giant silver bean at millennium park draws you in. Stupid shape, seemingly unappealing, but it draws you in like no other. I’d passed it by for days, just a stupid bean on the hill, but today I turned I to the park a few hours to kill before I left for the airport.

I was immediately struck by its size, and the clarity of its reflection. Cleverly situated at the edge of the park, it shown the second city buildings proudly rising above the green trees.

I was drawn in by its reflection, searching it’s panoramic view for a glimpse of myself, funny your eyes can always find yourself in a mirror, but the trick of light and surface curvature obscured my face in the immense image, not until I was quite close, did I see the tiny figure lost in the white brick of the plaza. Not until I was within a few feet did my image eclipse that of the city.

I’m not sure of the artists intent but for me it signified my insignificance against the back drop of Chicago. But it was comforting to be able to see myself in that larger scheme, even if I was just a tiny speck.

Fascinated, I sat in the park unable to turn away, sat watching the people young and old trying to find their place in the world. Even a distorted facsimile shown on the curved face of the great bean.

©The Autobiography of Mr. Perfect, 2014

This entry was posted in Mr Perfect and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

